Classic Audi Technical Mech/Tech Interior » Computer says No?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 23-05-17, 11:42 PM   #1
Cynical26
Grown up member
 
Cynical26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: North Ayrshire
Posts: 554
Default Computer says No?

Hi all, quick question:

Can the dash instrument cluster with the computer be easily retro fitted to a car without it? Is the harness already there or is it just a bitch and not possible?

Car is a 93 coupe.

Any information would be appreciated.

Thanks
Cynical26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-17, 07:13 AM   #2
Mellis46
Blank Switch Hater
Classic Audi Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: St. Helens
Posts: 861
Default

Its not impossible, but the loom isnt there by default and you need a couple of extra parts in addition, (depending on the engine) and wiper stalk with buttons etc.
__________________
-1987 Audi 90 2.2E / Sapphire Blue (Rest in Pieces)
-1989 Audi 90 quattro with Sport Equipment / Satin Black
-1997 Audi A4 Avant quattro TDI 110 / Tropical Green (Sold)
-2012 Audi A1 Sport TFSI / Glacier White

Last edited by Mellis46; 24-05-17 at 07:37 AM.
Mellis46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-17, 07:28 AM   #3
Mellis46
Blank Switch Hater
Classic Audi Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: St. Helens
Posts: 861
Default

This may help:

http://www.s2forum.com/forum/showthread.php?t=31826
__________________
-1987 Audi 90 2.2E / Sapphire Blue (Rest in Pieces)
-1989 Audi 90 quattro with Sport Equipment / Satin Black
-1997 Audi A4 Avant quattro TDI 110 / Tropical Green (Sold)
-2012 Audi A1 Sport TFSI / Glacier White
Mellis46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-17, 12:53 PM   #4
mikes2
Senior Member
Classic Audi Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Polmont
Posts: 1,337
Default

Problem is getting the autocheck / computer in mph

Your autocheck will not accept a computer module - you'll need both. Guess how I know this
__________________
1991 90 quattro 20v sport
1993 S2 estate
mikes2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-17, 03:40 PM   #5
Mellis46
Blank Switch Hater
Classic Audi Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: St. Helens
Posts: 861
Default

"Fun and games" Mike?
__________________
-1987 Audi 90 2.2E / Sapphire Blue (Rest in Pieces)
-1989 Audi 90 quattro with Sport Equipment / Satin Black
-1997 Audi A4 Avant quattro TDI 110 / Tropical Green (Sold)
-2012 Audi A1 Sport TFSI / Glacier White
Mellis46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-17, 05:10 PM   #6
Cynical26
Grown up member
 
Cynical26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: North Ayrshire
Posts: 554
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mellis46 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikes2 View Post
Problem is getting the autocheck / computer in mph

Your autocheck will not accept a computer module - you'll need both. Guess how I know this
Hmm, think I'll look in to this a bit further then decide if it's worth the effort.

Cheers guys
Cynical26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:32 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2007-2008 Classic Audi | Site by Roadrunna