Classic Audi » Technical » Mech/Tech » Engine » white smoke

Old 07-01-17, 08:32 PM   #1
lenweb
Newbie!
Classic Audi Club Member

Angry white smoke

Hi
I have a 2.8 coupe, engine code AAH. I'm no mechanic, so I'm after some advice.
There's a lot of white smoke on tick-over, yet oil & coolant levels seem OK.
Could anything else be causing this?
I've changed the oil and added valve additive, as the car had been stood for some time.
Any help would be appreciated.
lenweb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-17, 09:25 PM   #2
vorsprung durch technik
4 ring whore!
Classic Audi Club Member

When you say "white smoke" do you mean literally white smoke which is completely different to steam. Which are you referring to?
vorsprung durch technik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-17, 09:46 PM   #3
lenweb
Newbie!
Classic Audi Club Member

Hi
Thanks for your reply.
Like I say, I'm no mechanic, but I would say it's a smoke, that varies in density. Even when I've driven the car a fair distance, as soon as you leave it on tick-over, the smoke re-appears. Could it be it just needs a really good run?
Cheers
Old 07-01-17, 09:52 PM   #4
vorsprung durch technik
4 ring whore!
Classic Audi Club Member

What your describing sounds the opposite to what i would expect especially at this time of year with these engines.It's normal for them to have steam wafting out but not normal what your describing. Why don't you try putting a cold plates against this white smoke and see if it condensates,if yes it's condensation from steam if not then sound like it could be oil burning.
Old 07-01-17, 10:30 PM   #5
lenweb
Newbie!
Classic Audi Club Member

Thanks very much for your advice. I'll give it a try tomorrow and let you know how I go on.
Cheers. Len
Old 07-01-17, 11:11 PM   #6
missfire
making wooden things
Classic Audi Club Member

Unburnt fuel if you're burning diesel in it. head gaskets are made of cheese on these, but hope not, any steam cleaned spark plugs?