Classic Audi » Technical » Mech/Tech » Suspension & Brakes » Coupe GT front suspension

Old 19-07-21, 04:43 PM   #1
84CoupeGT
Grown up member

Default Coupe GT front suspension

Afternoon all

I'm currently going through the front suspension on my pre-facelift Coupe GT (KE engine). I'm not an expert mechanic, so bear with me....

So far I've removed, stripped, painted and re-bushed the anti-roll bar, drop links, control arms and subframe. I've got new bolts for the subframe and control arms (part no. N90556902), however they are fully threaded, whereas the bolts that were on the car were all part-threaded (I think it's likely at least the subframe ones are original as the bushes were). Does anyone know if fully threaded are ok please? I thought probably yes for the subframe but not sure about for the control arms... Also, the new nuts for the control arms, ball joint bolt etc are the serrated collar type rather than nyloc, they are one of the part numbers given on the Audi catalogue for those... Anyone know if those are ok or can I re-use the nyloc ones?

Normally I wouldn't worry too much, but keen to avoid anything undoing itself or breaking for obvious reasons...

Anything else I should look at doing while I have the subframe off? Gearbox mount?

Many thanks.
84CoupeGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-07-21, 05:01 PM   #2
mikes2
4 ring whore!
Classic Audi Club Member

Those fully threaded bolts will be fine. I've fitted them to a few of mine now both to the subtame and to the wishbones. The only issue with them is that some of them come with a 18mm hex head - there isn't as much room for the larger tools when refitting and some tool kits might not have a suitable 18mm socket

The shouldered nuts are quite useful when fitting the wishbones to the subframe as the swan neck spanner will slip over a normal nut. These are usually 16mm which verifies they are replacements and not originals when all your torque settings get checked.