Classic Audi » Community » General Chat » Insurance Companies - you gotta watch em

Old 24-06-15, 11:54 AM   #1
Emjay
Man Fettler Extraodinaire
Classic Audi Club Member

Default Insurance Companies - you gotta watch em

Take Equity Red Star as a case in point.

Been with them via Adrian Flux on the coupe for many years no problems.

Went online to get some quotes for the M3. Got a quote via Adrian Flux direct so contact AF to finalise. Usual questions including have you had any insurance claims in the last five years. I stated the no. I am a company car driver so whatever bangs and bumps I have gets handled by them.

AF came back and said there is a claim being reported from October 2012 on their database against me. I got shunted up my rear at some traffic lights. Agreed with AF the accident was genuine. They contacted ERS who said there was no additional risk to the policy with the declaration and the price could stand. Great news and we paid on the spot.

Two days later I get a demand notice through on the Audi policy (which is about to expire in any case) asking for a further 80 English quids to uplift my current policy cover due to this "undeclared claim"

So we have a situation whereby on one policy there is no impact to risk but on an existing policy there is?

Even though the policy is about to expire and any risk has not been realised over the term?

Contacted AF to lodge a complaint. Advised that I did not intend to pay the uplift. AF said they could not do anything so I placed on their record the fact I would contest directly with ERS. AF advised that even if I cancelled the insurance policy that the charges would still stand as they are retrospectively applied.

ERS have a dedicated complaints helpdesk. Did you know that? I dont think the staff at ERS do either. I left a voicemail on their dedicated customer complaints phone line and sent two emails on their dedicated customer complaints email address without even an acknowledgment of reciept.